Archive for February 4th, 2007

An exercise in self-indulgence

February 4, 2007

I am starting this blog as a record of my running aspirations, efforts and (hopefully) rewards.

Admittedly, this will be nothing but a self-indulgent exercise. If it has any value it will be to track my progress and, maybe, lift my motivation from time-to-time.

As a starting point in this self-indulgence, I should summarize last year’s running. Although some progress was noted during approx. six (6) months of intense, structured training (with a coach), I failed to record a PB at any distance (5k to marathon). By September, I ceased almost all running due to onset of plantar fasciitis in both feet. Unfortunately, this injury scuttled my end-of-season marathon build-up.

Since December, my goal has been to improve my aerobic base and running form. Although I’ve never displayed Ferrari-like speed or style, I hope my running may benefit from this blogging self-indulgence.