Bonk me

      eugehhf_eum2.jpg

This year, Good Friday fell 23 days before the start of the inaugural Eugene marathon. I took advantage of the holiday by doing one of (if not the) last long training run.

I had taken only one gel packet with me and consumed it at about mile 14. However, by mile 21, I achieved a robust bonk (has a nice ring to it) and pretty well had to drag myself back home — the last two mile splits being 8:44 and 8:45 !!

I must better prepare for marathon day by packing along three gels.

Today: 23.12mi, 2:55:26 (av. 7:35/mi)

Leave a Reply

