With or without… ?

I repeated the question silently to myself as I looked over at my restingimages1.jpg running partner, aware that many would consider the issue too frivolous to worry about, and I am strangely comforted to think that if this is my most pressing issue the day before the city’s biggest 10k then I may be ready for a great run tomorrow.

Staring at my iPod nano buddy, I asked “with or without you?” (apologies to U2)…

Hmmm, “with or without… tunes“.

The Sun Run is an annual tradition in Vancouver, bringing out everyone vs_sun_run_banner_2007_768.jpg from walkers to international elite road racers (Gilbert Okari won last year).

The weather forecast is for a perfect morning, dry and cool. Physically, I feel pretty good, during this tapering stage of marathon training and without any ailments. So the only thing left is the mental part, the psychology of running with tunes.

I took a final jog around the neighbourhood, just to flex the leg muscles. Without thinking about the psychology too much, I enjoyed flicking various songs from the nano, noticing that I would pick it up whenever a song with a strong drum beat or fast rhythm played.

That settled it, I will race with nano !!

I think I’ll go with the following selection of blood-pumping tunes:

    1. Welcome to the Jungle, Guns N’ Roses, 4:33
    2. The Emperor’s New Clothes, Sinéad O’Connor, 5:17
    3. A Little Less Conversation (Junkie XL Remix), Elvis Presley, 3:32
    4. Go Your Own Way, Fleetwood Mac, 3:40
    5. Are You Gonna Go My Way, Lenny Kravitz, 3:31
    6. Rock and Roll, Led Zeppelin, 3:44
    7. My Best Friend’s Girl, The Cars, 3:42
    8. I Wanna Be Sedated, The Ramones, 2:29
    9. Any Way You Want It, Journey, 3:22
    10. Sheena Is a Punk Rocker, The Ramones, 2:47
    11. Blitzkrieg Bop, The Ramones, 2:11

Race goal: to set a new PB (currently 37:36 — 2003 Sun Run).

Today: 4mi, 31:29 (av. 7:53/mi), incl. striders x6

One Response to “With or without… ?”

  1. Boy George Says:

    Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?

Leave a Reply

